Navratna Stone

Navratan or Navratna denotes the majestic combination of ‘nine auspicious gemstones’. This word is originated from the ancient Sanskrit language that terms it as नवरत्न i.e., nine gems, which refers to the ‘Navagrahas’, also known as the nine celestial gods of the universe or the nine major planets of our solar system.

It is quite hard to trace and prove the exact cosmology origin and significance of these nine renowned gemstones. However, linked with a number of Indian religions like Hinduism, Jainism, and Buddhism, these sacred gemstones are believed to hold inherent mystical powers and a very special place in the Indian Vedic astrology.

They demonstrate the nine holy planetary bodies, as follows:-

  • Ruby (Manik) represents the Sun (Surya)
  • Pearl (Moti) represents the Moon (Chandra)
  • Diamond (Heera) represents the Venus (Shukra)
  • Emerald (Panna) represents the Mercury (Budha)
  • Red Coral (Moonga) represents the Mars (Mangala)
  • Blue Sapphire (Neelam) represents the Saturn (Shani)
  • Yellow Sapphire (Pukhraj) represents the Jupiter (Bṛhaspati)
  • Hessonite (Gomed) represents the Rahu (the ascending lunar node)
  • Cat's Eye (Lehsunia) represents the Ketu (the descending lunar node)

The nine renowned Navratans (Navratnas) are ruby, pearl, emerald, diamond, red coral, cat's eye, hessonite, blue sapphire, and yellow sapphire. The arrangement, quality, and the position of these nine gemstones to the wearer’s body play an important role for fetching the desired mythological or peculiar benefits and purported health resolutions in the life of the bearer.

The traditional setting of Navratna gems illustrates a clockwise arrangement that has a ruby in the center, representing the starting planet Sun. Later, beginning from the diamond in the top, the arrangement of Nava-Graha Yantra is followed by a natural pearl, red coral, hessonite, blue sapphire, cat's eye, yellow sapphire, and an emerald in the end.

Conventionally, no other gemstone, except ruby or a red spinel, is placed in the middle of the setting (as the Sun is believed to be the center of the universe), and doing so is considered going against the flow of nature.

Navratna stones are often used and worn in rings, earrings, pendants, bracelets, etc. as the centerpiece, with Gold, Silver, white gold, Platinum, or Panchdhatu metals.

As per Indian Vedic astrology, Navratna holds extreme positive energies of nine astrological planets, which is operative for people with an inclusive weak birth-chart. Besides representing the characteristics and metaphysical concepts of good fortune, these gemstones effectively work to improve the mental, physical, social, financial, professional, and marital conditions of a person.

Although, these nine auspicious gemstones come with no astrological restrictions in general; not anyone can wear any Navratana of his or her choice. These gemstones are opted according to the positions of planets and stars in the house of horoscope and Zodiac sign of the wearer. Therefore, one is highly advised to consult an experienced astrologer before wearing any gemstone because one being fortunate for someone, may not be that good for someone else.

So, book an appointment with an expert astrologer and look him up along with your birth chart to know which Navratan gemstone suits you the best.


Clients Testimonials


Your Shopping Bag

Your shopping cart is empty.